Strategy instead of pandemic

Safety through saliva testing for COVID-19 combined with questionnaires for work, travel and cultural events

The classic swab tests are time-consuming, require trained personnel and can hardly be repeated regularly. However, the opposite is true for PCR analyses with pooling from self-collected saliva samples. Combined with questionnaires on risk circumstances, this creates a continuous, customised risk analysis for the respective context. As a work package in B-FAST, the UMM is testing such concrete solution strategies in the pandemic for work environments, cultural events and travel. B-FAST is a sub-project of the University Medicine Network on COVID-19.

The classic swab tests are time-consuming, require trained personnel and can hardly be repeated regularly. However, the opposite is true for PCR analyses with pooling from self-collected saliva samples. Combined with questionnaires on risk circumstances, this creates a continuous, customised risk analysis for the respective context. As a work package in B-FAST, the UMM is testing such concrete solution strategies in the pandemic for work environments, cultural events and travel. B-FAST is a sub-project of the University Medicine Network on COVID-19.

Part of the University Medicine Network to combat COVID-19

Germany-wide association of 25 university hospitals

Head of Work Package 6: UMM & UKK

Prof. Dr. Joachim E. Fischer from the University Medical Centre Mannheim and Prof. Dr. Oliver Cornely from the University Hospital Cologne lead the work package "Risk areas" within the framework of B-FAST

UMM focus on 3 areas: Work environment, cultural events, travel

Development and implementation of test strategies for a wide range of applications

Governance structure B-FAST

B-FAST UMM as a sub-project in B-FAST

The overarching project B-FAST (Bundesweites Forschungsnetz Angewandte Surveillance (Überwachung) und Testung) is a project of the National Research Network of Universitymedicine Research Network (NUM) in Germany, funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), to contribute to the management of the Corona pandemic (COVID-19). The primary goal of B-FAST is to develop a surveillance and testing strategy that is sustainable, scalable and transferable to future pandemics, and to test it in different application areas (e.g. schools and day-care centres, precarious housing, cultural events, clinics, etc.). Thus, the combination of non-medical and medical measures (e.g. tests) should largely contain the spread of the pandemic pathogen.

The first step is to establish a central structure and coordination between university hospitals, the Robert Koch Institute (RKI) and other public and non-public partners to exchange and merge structured data sets. In order to control the Corona pandemic (COVID-19) in the long term, new infections are to be recorded early and chains of infection uncovered at an early stage. In addition, patient care and crisis management are to be supported quickly and directly by new findings.

While the primary focus is on containing the current COVID-19 pandemic, the B-FAST network aims to establish an overarching surveillance and testing strategy for future pandemics in a long-term and adaptable manner.

Within the framework of work package 6 (risk areas) of B-FAST, the University Medical Centre Mannheim (UMM) is focusing on the development of solution concepts for the areas of working environment, cultural events and travel (B-FAST UMM). 

Risk areas

Within the framework of B-FAST, work package 6 "Risk areas" (headed by Prof. O. Cornely, Cologne; Prof. J. Fischer, Mannheim) is looking for strategies for different risk areas during the pandemic. 

Basically, the Corona pandemic (COVID-19) in Germany occurred primarily in five areas, with the spread in the past preferentially through asymptomatic or oligosymptomatic infected persons: nursing homes, residential situations, cultural events, work, travel. 

In Mannheim, specific projects for cultural events, work and travel are being implemented as part of work package 6 of B-FAST.

B-FAST
Strategie B-FAST

Strategy development

The piloting of strategies in the above-mentioned risk areas is the primary goal of this network of researchers at the University Medical Centres in Berlin, Bochum, Göttingen, Cologne, Lübeck, Mainz, Mannheim and Marburg, as well as the Max Planck Institute in Göttingen.

Furthermore, the measurement and modelling of the dispersion of human aerosols and droplets should enable the development of situation-specific recommendations for measures (Z-Projekt). 

Project partner

The Mannheim Institute for Public Health, Social and Preventive Medicine (MIPH) works with the following project partners to implement the project activities in the individual areas. 

Network B-FAST

25 German university hospitals are working together in the B-FAST project to contain the Corona pandemic. 

Netzwerk Universitätsmedizin

Team B-FAST UMM

The team at the Mannheim Institute for Public Health, Social and Preventive Medicine supporting the BAST project consists of the following people:

Prof. Dr.
Joachim E. Fischer

Director, Project Management
B-FAST UMM


Bertil Baron

Data Analyst
B-FAST UMM


Christine Neumann

Research Associate, Project Coordination B-FAST UMM

Manuel Plew

Research Associate, cultural events

Maren Scupin

Chief Client Officer,
Working environment

Dr. Michaela Weber

Research Associate, travel, publications

Simon Heim

Student Assistant

Zoe Lichnock

Student Assistant

Marietta Ostendorf

Student Assistant

Anna Fee Wefelmeier

Student Assistant

Latest news and information

Follow the latest project developments and take a look at our publications.

Strategie statt Pandemie

Sicherheit durch Speicheltests auf SARS-CoV-2 kombiniert mit Fragebogen für Arbeit, Reisen und Kulturveranstaltungen

Die klassischen Abstrich-Tests sind aufwändig, brauchen geschultes Personal und lassen sich kaum regelmäßig wiederholen. PCR-Analysen mit Pooling aus selbst gewonnenen Speichelproben schon. Kombiniert mit Fragebögen zu Risikoumständen entsteht so eine kontinuierliche, passgenaue Risikoanalyse für den jeweiligen Kontext. Die UMM erprobt als Arbeitspaket in B-FAST derartige, konkrete Lösungsstrategien in der Pandemie für Arbeitsumfeld, Kulturveranstaltungen und Reisen. B-FAST ist ein Teilprojekt des Netzwerks Universitätsmedizin zu COVID-19.

Die klassischen Abstrich-Tests sind aufwändig, brauchen geschultes Personal und lassen sich kaum regelmäßig wiederholen. PCR-Analysen mit Pooling aus selbst gewonnenen Speichelproben schon. Kombiniert mit Fragebögen zu Risikoumständen entsteht so eine kontinuierliche, passgenaue Risikoanalyse für den jeweiligen Kontext. Die UMM erprobt als Arbeitspaket in B-FAST derartige, konkrete Lösungsstrategien in der Pandemie für Arbeitsumfeld, Kulturveranstaltungen und Reisen. B-FAST ist ein Teilprojekt des Netzwerks Universitätsmedizin zu COVID-19.

Teil des Netzwerks Universitätsmedizin zur COVID-19 Bekämpfung

Deutschlandweiter Zusammenschluss von 25 Universitätskliniken

Leitung Arbeitspaket 6: UMM & UKK

Prof. Dr. Joachim E. Fischer von der Universitätsmedizin Mannheim und Prof. Dr. Oliver Cornely von der Uniklinik Köln leiten das Arbeitspaket "Risikobereiche" im Rahmen von B-FAST

Fokus der UMM auf 3 Bereiche: Arbeitsumfeld, Kulturereignisse, Reisen

Entwicklung und Implementierung von Teststrategien für die unterschiedlichsten Anwendungsbereiche

Leitungsstruktur B-FAST

B-FAST UMM als Teilprojekt in B-FAST

Das übergeordnete Projekt B-FAST (Bundesweites Forschungsnetz Angewandte Surveillance (Überwachung) und Testung) ist ein Projekt des Nationalen Forschungsnetzwerks der Universitätsmedizin (NUM) in Deutschland, gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), um zur Bewältigung der Corona-Pandemie (COVID-19) beizutragen. B-FAST hat das primäre Ziel, eine nachhaltig einsetzbare, skalierbare und auf zukünftige Pandemien übertragbare Surveillance- (Überwachungs-) und Teststrategie zu entwickeln und in unterschiedlichen Anwendungsbereichen (z. B. Schulen und KiTas, prekäre Wohnverhältnisse, Kulturereignisse, Kliniken, etc.) zu erproben. Somit soll durch die Kombination von nichtmedizinischen und medizinischen Maßnahmen (z. B. Tests) die Ausbreitung des pandemischen Erregers weitgehend eingedämmt werden.

Im ersten Schritt geht es um die Etablierung einer Zentralstruktur und die Koordination zwischen Universitätskliniken, dem Robert Koch-Institut (RKI) und anderen öffentlichen und nicht öffentlichen Partnerinnen und Partnern, um strukturierte Datensätze auszutauschen und zusammenzuführen. Um die Corona-Pandemie (COVID-19) langfristig zu kontrollieren, sollen Neuinfektionen früh erfasst und Infektionsketten frühzeitig aufgedeckt werden. Außerdem soll die Versorgung von Patientinnen und Patienten und das Krisenmanagement schnell und unmittelbar durch neue Erkenntnisse unterstützt werden.

Während primär die Eindämmung der aktuellen COVID-19 Pandemie im Vordergrund steht, soll durch das B-FAST Netzwerk eine übergreifende Surveillance- und Teststrategie für zukünftige Pandemien langfristig und adaptierbar erstellt werden.

Die Universitätsmedizin Mannheim (UMM) konzentriert sich im Rahmen von Arbeitspaket 6 (Risikobereiche) von B-FAST auf die Erarbeitung von Lösungskonzepten für die Bereiche Arbeitsumfeld, Kulturveranstaltungen und Reisen (B-FAST UMM). 

Risikobereiche

Im Rahmen von B-FAST, sucht das Arbeitspaket 6 „Risikobereiche“ (Leitung Prof. O. Cornely, Köln; Prof. J. Fischer, Mannheim) nach Strategien für verschiedene Risikobereiche während der Pandemie. 

Grundsätzlich erfolgte die Corona-Pandemie (COVID-19) in Deutschland vorrangig in fünf Bereichen, wobei die Verbreitung in der Vergangenheit bevorzugt durch asymptomatische oder oligosymptomatische Infizierte entstand: Pflegeheime, Wohnsituationen, Kulturereignisse, Arbeit, Reisen. 

In Mannheim werden im Rahmen des Arbeitspakets 6 von B-FAST spezifische Vorhaben für Kulturereignisse, Arbeit und Reisen umgesetzt.

B-FAST
Strategie B-FAST

Strategie-Entwicklung

Die Pilotierung von Strategien in den oben genannten Risikobereichen ist das primäre Ziel dieses Verbundes aus Forschern an der Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Bochum, Göttingen, Köln, Lübeck, Mainz, Mannheim und Marburg sowie dem Max-Planck-Institut in Göttingen.

Außerdem soll die Messung und Modellierung der Ausbreitung von menschlichen Aerosolen und Tröpfchen die Entwicklung von situationsspezifischen Maßnahmenempfehlungen ermöglichen (Z-Projekt). 

Projektpartner

Das Mannheimer Institut für Public Health, Sozial- und Präventivmedizin (MIPH) arbeitet mit den folgenden Projektpartnern zusammen, um die Projektaktivitäten in den einzelnen Bereichen umzusetzen. 

Netzwerk B-FAST

25 deutsche Universitätskliniken arbeiten im Rahmen des B-FAST-Projektes zusammen, um die Corona-Pandemie einzudämmen. 

Netzwerk Universitätsmedizin

Team B-FAST UMM

Das Team am Mannheimer Institut für Public Health, Sozial- und Präventivmedizin zur Unterstützung des B-FAST-Projektes besteht aus den folgenden Personen:

Prof. Dr.
Joachim E. Fischer

Direktor, Projektleitung
B-FAST UMM


Bertil Baron

Data Analyst
B-FAST UMM


Christine Neumann

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin, Projektkoordination B-FAST UMM

Manuel Plew

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, Kulturveranstaltungen

Maren Scupin

Chief Client Officer,
Arbeitsumfeld

Dr. Michaela Weber

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin, Reisen, Publikationen

Simon Heim

Studentische Hilfskraft

Zoe Lichnock

Studentische Hilfskraft

Marietta Ostendorf

Studentische Hilfskraft

Anna Fee Wefelmeier

Studentische Hilfskraft

Aktuelle Neuigkeiten und Informationen

Verfolgen Sie die aktuellen Projekt-Entwicklungen und schauen Sie sich unsere Publikationen an.