Cultural Events

B-FAST concept "Safe cultural events“

B-FAST experts are currently working on the concept "Safe Cultural Events", a comprehensive and, depending on the pandemic situation, flexible protection concept for the safe implementation of events, especially in indoor areas. In a modified form, the concept should also be transferable to large outdoor events.

The protection concept at a glance

Sports and cultural events play a special role in the context of the pandemic, as large numbers of people come together here in indoor and outdoor areas. The B-FAST network is devoting a separate consideration to this area within the framework of the "Risk Areas" working group in order to provide solution approaches and concepts that also enable the breaking of infection chains in these contexts. Together with other university locations, comprehensive solution concepts for the cultural sector are to be developed. The information presented in the following sections focuses on the scientific activities of the University Medical Centre Mannheim in this area. 

Even if, outside of the lockdown phases, events were sometimes possible on a smaller scale locally due to legal relaxations, the observance of minimum distances, capacity reductions, the wearing of effective mouth-nose coverings and the application of hygiene concepts, this is by no means the case for the majority of organisers in the cultural sector.

Large festivals, concerts with a free choice of seats without seating and especially clubs or venues that are not open-air can only hold events under strict conditions. Organisers in these areas must calculate with regard to the economic viability of their events either with full capacity or at least a 60% occupancy of their venue in order to reach the economic break-even point.

So, every ticket buyer counts. Under the restrictions mentioned above, most events are neither feasible nor economically viable.

The problem with the Corona pandemic is that more than half of all COVID-19 cases are asymptomatic, in which the affected persons unknowingly spread viruses for several days. Concepts around preventive testing at events can help to make events safe again. The "Safe Cultural Events" concept provides for variably scalable measures that can be adapted to local pandemic events.

In order to gain knowledge as quickly as possible, various acceptance modalities are tested during cultural events, among other things, and aerosol and droplet exposure are assessed on a situation-specific basis.

The implementation of a standardised and adaptable process of surveillance at cultural events as well as risk management of selected cultural reference situations has proven to be possible. In addition, recommendations for action such as admission procedures and control of visitor flows can be made for large events.

The focus of the investigations of the B-FAST risk area of cultural events and of central importance are the preventive tests of event visitors. A prominent test procedure is the detection of viruses or viral material from saliva or by means of a nasopharyngeal swab. The classic swab test using a swab from the nasopharynx, but also the established testing using saliva or gargle water are equivalent when it comes to detecting the infection potential of a possibly infected person.

One test method for this is RT-PCR, in which the presence of viral genetic material is detected via an amplification process. This method can detect viruses early in their multiplication and is thus very sensitive, but correspondingly complex and requires a processing time of several hours. Despite the advantage of being able to identify persons who could later become infectious the earliest of all methods, this method has the disadvantages of imperfect sensitivity and imperfect specificity.

Antigen tests, on the other hand, use biological antibodies that bind to proteins on the surface of the virus. While the sensitivity of this method is lower than that of RT-PCR, performing inexpensive antigen tests provides a result after only 15 minutes, making them useful when combined with different measures in a targeted manner. A negative same-day antigen test and consistent wearing of effective mouth-nose covering is associated with a very low risk of spreading infection.

Project overview: Events in internal spaces

Tests that have already been successfully carried out at cultural events are described in the following sections. 

Safe implementation of cultural events during the pandemic

B-FAST experts are currently working on the concept "Safe Cultural Events", a knowledge-based protection concept for events in indoor spaces, which defines the wearing of effective mouth-nose protection and the proof of a negative high-quality test (at least a rapid antigen test) as the basis. 

The risk of infection is further reduced by a pre-event questionnaire that verifies the absence of symptoms and assures that there was a low risk of infection in the days before the event. The questionnaire also generates a risk classification and derives appropriate recommendations. These clusters can be used for guests at events, as well as for venue staff and artists. 

Online health questionnaire

At the Frankfurt Book Fair from 14-18 October 2020, an online health questionnaire was used for self-declaration on COVID-19. This was used to record whether visitors had been in a risk area in the past 14 days, whether there had been risk contact with an infected person who had been tested positive or even whether the person had been diagnosed with an infection themselves. In addition, various symptoms were queried. 

Admission to the fairgrounds was only permitted if the answers to the questions were deemed not to pose a risk in the sense of the local health authority. The questionnaire was offered and completed digitally. The associated ticket was automatically blocked for the electronic access control in case of an entry that did not authorise access.

Use of rapid antigen tests at cultural events

In the context of a cultural event on 31.10.2020, rapid antigen tests were tested for the first time. For this purpose, the venue was seated with a safety distance, masks were mandatory and certain hygiene rules applied. Visitors filled out a health questionnaire and could perform an antigen test on site after booking a timeslot online. For this purpose, a test lane was set up at the event location with two smear booths where medical professionals took a sample in the form of a throat swab. The test result was delivered by email or SMS. 

If the result was negative and the questionnaire was included, admission could be granted with minimal residual risk of infection.

Project overview: Outdoor events

The test concept for large sporting events still needs to be tested. 

Fußball Stadion Berlin

DFL study: Concepts for football stadiums

The study by the German Football League (DFL) aims to validate the comprehensive hygiene concept for football clubs developed by the DFB and DFL. 

The study design provides for visitors to generate a sample before the game using throat gargle water, which is obtained in the same way as a conventional throat swab and analysed in the laboratory using RT-PCR. In addition, an online health questionnaire will be completed to estimate the pre-test probability. 

The next step in the study is for the visitors to fill out the questionnaire again after six days or after the onset of symptoms typical of COVID-19 and to give another gargle sample (test kit). If the sample tests positive, the retrospective cluster strategy will be used for contact tracing. 

Contact tracing in the stadium

With the help of the complete list of participants and the seating plan of the stadium, contact persons of the index case can be identified. The evidence-based study is intended to prove the effectiveness of the hygiene concepts initiated by the DFL.

The implementation of a standardised and adaptable process of surveillance at cultural events as well as risk management of selected cultural reference situations has proven to be possible. In addition, recommendations for action such as admission procedures and management of visitor flows can be made for large events.

Stadium

Project partner

"For the Freiburg Jazzhaus, as one of the most renowned event venues in Germany, scientifically tested concepts with preventive testing are the only way to allow live culture to take place again within an economically justifiable framework in the current situation."

Kulturveranstaltungen

B-FAST-Konzept "Sichere Kulturveranstaltungen"

B-FAST-Expert:innen erarbeiten derzeit das Konzept „Sichere Kulturveranstaltungen“, ein umfassendes und je nach Pandemielage flexibles Schutzkonzept zur sicheren Durchführung insbesondere von Veranstaltungen in Binnenräumen. In abgewandelter Form soll das Konzept auch auf Outdoor-Großevents übertragbar sein.

Das Schutzkonzept im Überblick

Sport- und Kulturereignisse spielen eine besondere Rolle im Rahmen der Pandemie, da hier im Indoor- und Outdoor-Bereich eine große Anzahl an Menschen zusammenkommt. Das B-FAST-Netzwerk widmet diesem Bereich im Rahmen der Arbeitsgruppe „Risikobereiche“ eine separate Betrachtung, um Lösungsansätze und Konzepte zu liefern, die auch in diesen Kontexten das Durchbrechen von Infektionsketten ermöglichen. Zusammen mit anderen universitären Standorten sollen umfassende Lösungskonzepte für den Kulturbereich entwickelt werden. Die in den folgenden Abschnitten dargestellten Informationen konzentrieren sich auf die wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeiten der Universitätsmedizin Mannheim in diesem Bereich. 

Auch wenn außerhalb der Lockdown-Phasen durch gesetzliche Lockerungen, das Einhalten von Mindestabständen, Kapazitätenverringerungen, dem Tragen von wirksamen Mund-Nasen-Bedeckungen und der Anwendung von Hygienekonzepten lokal teilweise Veranstaltungen im kleineren Rahmen möglich waren, trifft dies längst nicht auf den Großteil der Veranstalter:innen in der Kulturbranche zu.

Große Festivals, Konzerte mit freier Platzwahl ohne Bestuhlung und insbesondere Clubs oder Veranstaltungsstätten, die nicht Open-Air stattfinden, können nur unter strengen Auflagen Veranstaltungen durchführen. Veranstalter in diesen Bereichen müssen hinsichtlich der Wirtschaftlichkeit ihrer Events entweder mit voller Kapazität oder einer mindestens 60%igen Auslastung ihres Venues kalkulieren, um den ökonomischen Break-Even-Punkt zu erreichen.

Jede:r Ticketkäufer:in zählt also. Unter den genannten Einschränkungen sind die meisten Veranstaltungen weder durchführbar noch betriebswirtschaftlich sinnvoll darstellbar.

Die Problematik der Corona-Pandemie liegt darin begründet, dass über die Hälfte aller COVID-19-Erkrankungen asymptomatische Verläufe vorweisen, in denen die betroffenen Personen mehrere Tage Viren unwissentlich verbreiten. Konzepte rund um Präventivtestungen bei Veranstaltungen können dazu beitragen, Veranstaltungen wieder sicher durchzuführen. Das Konzept „Sichere Kulturveranstaltungen“ sieht variabel skalierbare Maßnahmen vor, die sich an das lokale Pandemiegeschehen anpassen lassen.

Um möglichst schnell Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen, werden unter anderem verschiedene Abnahmemodalitäten bei Kulturereignissen erprobt und Aerosol- sowie Tröpfchenexposition situationsspezifisch beurteilt.

Die Umsetzung eines standardisierten und adaptierbaren Prozesses der Surveillance bei Kulturveranstaltungen sowie dem Risikomanagement von ausgewählten kulturellen Referenzsituationen hat sich als möglich erwiesen. Außerdem können Handlungsempfehlungen wie Einlassverfahren und Steuerung von Besucherströmen für Großveranstaltungen ausgesprochen werden.

Im Fokus der Untersuchungen des B-FAST-Risikobereichs der Kulturveranstaltungen und von zentraler Bedeutung sind die Präventivtestungen von Veranstaltungsbesuchern. Ein prominentes Testverfahren ist der Nachweis von Viren oder Virusmaterial aus dem Speichel oder mittels Nasen-Rachen-Abstrich. Der klassische Abstrich mittels Tupfer aus dem Nasen-Rachen-Raum, aber auch die etablierte Testung mittels Speichel- oder Gurgelwassers sind gleichwertig, wenn es darum geht das Ansteckungspotenzial einer möglicherweise infizierten Person zu erfassen.

Ein Testverfahren hierzu ist die RT-PCR, bei der über einen Verstärkungsprozess das Vorhandensein von Virus-Erbmaterial nachgewiesen wird. Dieses Verfahren kann Viren bereits früh in der Vermehrung nachweisen und ist somit sehr empfindlich, jedoch dementsprechend aufwendig und bedarf einer Bearbeitungszeit von mehreren Stunden. Trotz des Vorteils, von allen Verfahren am frühesten Personen zu identifizieren, die später ansteckend werden könnten, birgt dieses Verfahren die Nachteile der nicht perfekten Sensitivität und der nicht perfekten Spezifizität.

Antigen-Tests hingegen nutzen biologische Antikörper, die an Eiweiße auf der Oberfläche des Virus binden. Die Empfindlichkeit dieses Verfahrens ist zwar geringer als bei der RT-PCR, jedoch liefert die Durchführung von preiswerten Antigen-Tests bereits nach 15 Minuten ein Ergebnis, wodurch diese bei gezielter Kombination mit unterschiedlichen Maßnahmen sinnvoll eingesetzt werden können.  Ein negativer Antigen-Test vom gleichen Tag und konsequentes Tragen einer wirksamen Mund-Nasen-Bedeckung geht mit einem sehr geringen Risiko einer Infektionsverbreitung einher.

Projektübersicht: Veranstaltungen in Binnenräumen

Bereits erfolgreich durchgeführte Testungen bei Kulturveranstaltungen werden in den folgenden Abschnitten beschrieben. 

Sichere Durchführung von Kulturveranstaltungen in der Pandemie

B-FAST-Expert:innen erarbeiten derzeit das Konzept „Sichere Kulturveranstaltungen“, ein wissensbasiertes Schutzkonzept für Veranstaltungen in Binnenräumen, welches das Tragen eines wirksamen Mund-Nasen-Schutzes und den Nachweis eines negativen qualitativ hochwertigen Tests (mindestens Antigen-Schnelltest) als Grundlage definiert. 

Das Ansteckungsrisiko wird weiterhin durch einen Vorab-Fragebogen, der die Symptomfreiheit überprüft, dass in den Tagen vor der Veranstaltung ein geringes Ansteckungsrisiko herrschte, verringert. Der Fragebogen generiert darüber hinaus eine Risiko-Klassifizierung und leitet entsprechende Empfehlungen ab. Diese Cluster sind sowohl für die Gäste von Veranstaltungen, als auch für Mitarbeiter:innen einer Location sowie Künstler:innen anwendbar. 

Online-Gesundheitsfragebogen

Auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse vom 14.-18. Oktober 2020 wurde ein Online-Gesundheitsfragebogen zur Selbsterklärung zu COVID-19 eingesetzt. Hiermit wurde erfasst, ob sich Besucher in den vergangenen 14 Tagen in einem Risikogebiet aufgehalten haben, ob ein Risikokontakt zu einem positiv-getesteten Infizierten stattgefunden hat oder sogar eine Infektion bei der Person selbst diagnostiziert wurde. Außerdem wurden diverse Symptome abgefragt. 

Der Zutritt zum Messegelände wurde nur gestattet, wenn die Beantwortung der Fragen im Sinne des lokalen Gesundheitsamtes als nicht gefährdend eingestuft wurde. Der Fragebogen wurde digital angeboten und ausgefüllt. Das zugehörige Ticket wurde bei einer Angabe, die nicht zum Zutritt berechtigte, für die elektronische Zutrittskontrolle automatisch gesperrt.

Einsatz von Antigen-Schnelltests bei Kulturveranstaltungen

Im Rahmen einer Kulturveranstaltung am 31.10.2020 wurden erstmals Antigen-Schnelltests erprobt. Dafür wurde der Veranstaltungsort mit Sicherheitsabstand bestuhlt, es galten Maskenpflicht und bestimmte Hygieneregeln. Besucher:innen füllten einen Gesundheitsfragebogen aus und konnten nach online-Buchung eines Timeslots einen Antigen-Test vor Ort durchführen. Zu diesem Zweck wurde an der Veranstaltungslocation eine Teststraße mit zwei Abstrichkabinen errichtet, in denen medizinisches Fachpersonal eine Probe in Form eines Rachen-Abstrichs entnahm. Das Testergebnis wurde per E-Mail oder SMS zugestellt. 

Bei negativem Ergebnis und unter Einbezug des Fragebogens konnte der Einlass unter minimalem Rest-Ansteckungsrisiko gewährt werden.

Projektübersicht: Outdoor-Veranstaltungen

Das Test-Konzept für Sport-Großveranstaltungen muss noch erprobt werden. 

Fußball Stadion Berlin

DFL-Studie: Konzepte für Fußballstadien

Die Studie der Deutschen Fußball-Liga (DFL) hat das Ziel, das umfangreiche, von DFB und DFL entwickelte Hygienekonzept für Fußball-Clubs zu validieren. 

Das Studiendesign sieht vor, dass Besucher:innen vor dem Spiel mittels Rachen-Gurgelwasser eine Probe generieren, die analog eines herkömmlichen Rachen-Abstrichs gewonnen und im Labor per RT-PCR ausgewertet wird. Außerdem wird ein Online-Gesundheitsfragebogen zur Abschätzung der Vortestwahrscheinlichkeit ausgefüllt. 

Im nächsten Schritt sieht die Studie vor, dass die Besucher:innen nach sechs Tagen oder nach Einsetzen von COVID-19-typischen Symptomen den Fragebogen erneut ausfüllen und eine weitere Gurgel-Probe (Testkit) abgeben. Bei einer positiv getesteten Probe wird die rückblickende Clusterstrategie zum Contact Tracing angewendet. 

Contact Tracing im Stadion

Mithilfe der kompletten Teilnehmer:innenliste und des Sitzplanes des Stadions können Kontaktpersonen des Indexfalles ermittelt werden. Die evidenzbasierte Studie soll die Wirksamkeit der von der DFL initiierten Hygienekonzepte beweisen.

Die Umsetzung eines standardisierten und adaptierbaren Prozesses der Surveillance bei Kulturveranstaltungen sowie Risikomanagement von ausgewählten kulturellen Referenzsituationen hat sich als möglich erwiesen. Außerdem können Handlungsempfehlungen wie Einlassverfahren und Steuerung von Besucher:innenströmen für Großveranstaltungen ausgesprochen werden.

Stadium

Projektpartner

"Für das Freiburger Jazzhaus als eines der renommiertesten Veranstaltungshäuser in Deutschland sind wissenschaftlich erprobte Konzepte mit Präventivtesting die einzige Möglichkeit, um in der aktuellen Situation Live-Kultur wieder in einem wirtschaftlich vertretbaren Rahmen stattfinden zu lassen."